Aspasia Nasopoulou

Een Fantastische Stad

Een Fanstastische Stad

A collection of compositions that Aspasia Nasopoulou wrote between 2011 and 2021 is inspired by the book of Italo Calvino, The Invisible Cities. Marco Polo, the merchant and adventurer from Venice, tells Kublai Kan about his travels through the ruler’s empire. “It seems to me that you have never visited the cities you describe”, says Kublai Kan to the ever resourceful Marco Polo. “Everything I see and do gets its meaning from a void in the spirit where the same calmness resides as here in this garden”
Do you hear Olinda, Eudoxia, Ersilia, Isaura? Or maybe it is Andria?
A great line-up of musicians makes to sound the many faces of the one city that stays implicit.

Bram van Sambeek, bassoon
Tobias Borsboom & Yokiko Hasegawa, piano
Kevin Walton, voice
Marijn Korff de Gidts, percussion
Trevor Grahl, organ
Antonis Pratsinakis, cello
Francesca Thompson, recorder and electronics
Roberto Genova, tenor saxophone
Fernado Oliveira, dance
Thanasis Deliagiannis, direction advice
Ernst Dullemond, decor

Premiere Orgelpark 20 November 2021

Een Fanstastische Stad